Bangladesh to begin SAFF Championship with Bhutan faceoff

Dhaka, April 18: The SAFF Suzuki Cup 2018, comprising of 7 countries under the South Asian Football Federation Umbrella, will kick off in Dhaka from September 4, 2018 with the Bangladesh vs Bhutan match.

The final fixture of the international tournament was set after raffle draws were held at the Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel in Dhaka on April 18, Wednesday. BFF President Kazi Salahuddin and other senior officials of the federation were present in the mega event, which marked the beginning of the SAFF football bonanza this year.

Of the 7 teams, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Bhutan were drawn into Group A, while the rest India, Maldives and Sri Lanka are in Group B.


The group stages of the tournament will continue till September 9 and the two semis will be held on September 12.

Following two days rest, the final of the SAFF Suzuki Cup 2018 will be hosted in Dhaka on September 15.

Previous PostU15 boys geared up ahead of SAFF championship