Prime Minister Awards U-16 Boys, U-19 Women’s Teams

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina awarded Bangladesh Under-16 Boys football team and Under-19 Women’s football team at Ganabhaban on November 28 (Thursday). 

Total of 43 booters from these two teams got Tk 3 lakh each from Prime Minister. 

Bangladesh Under-16s for the first time emerged unbeaten champions in their second appearance in the four-team UEFA Assist Under-16 International Development Tournament, beating Maldives Under-16s by 6-0 goals in their third and last match. 

The other two teams are Faroe Islands U-16s and Cambodia U-16s. The meet was held from October 16 to 20 at Bangabandhu National Stadium (BNS) here. With three consecutive wins, hosts Bangladesh finished top in the single-leg round-robin league basis meet securing full nine points while European team Faroe Islands finished second securing six points. Despite securing equal point (one point), South Asian team Maldives placed third by virtue of better goal difference and ASEAN team Cambodia finished fourth. 
Bangladeshi boys made a good start in the tournament beating Cambodia by 2-0 goals in their first match and continued their winning run beating European side Faroe Islands by 3-1 goals in their second match.

Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) organized the meet in collaboration with Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) under their UEFA Assist Mini Tournament Project.   

On the other hand, Bangladesh U-19 Women’s football team shared the trophy of the maiden Bangamata U-19 Women’s International Gold Cup’2019 with Laos as their final match on May 3 called off due to stormy weather caused by cyclone Fani.  

Bangladesh’s Sanjida Akhter was adjudged the Best Player and Mahmuda Akter the Best Goalkeeper.
The tournament held from April 22 to May 3 at Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka.  The tournament was the named after Bangamata Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib, wife of the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and mother of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. 

Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) and K-Sports jointly organized the tournament to celebrate Fazilatunnesa Mujib’s life and ideals. Besides, the main goal of the meet is to build up a strong pipeline for Bangladesh Women's National Football team.

Six teams including Mongolia, Kyrgyzstan, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Laos, Tajikistan and hosts Bangladesh -- split into two groups -- participated in the 12-day-meet. Mongolia, Tajikistan and Laos competed in the Group A while hosts Bangladesh played against Kyrgyzstan and UAE in Group B. 

Bangladesh emerged as Group B champions beating the UAE by 2-0 goals in the opening match on April 22 and managed a 2-1 victory over Kyrgyzstan in their second match on April 26. Despite having injury concerns, the hosts reached final eliminating Mongolia by 3-0 goals in the second semifinal on April 30.

Previous PostBangladesh: Saff U-18 Women's Champion
Next PostBangladesh National Football Team were financially rewarded by BFF Honorable President | Bangabandhu SAFF Championship 2023